30? Nope, 29 Again!

Standard

I am approaching…thirty.

Gah.

It hurts to think it, let alone write that number down. In just a few months, I will be in an entire new decade of my life and I am not handling it well … At least, based on the mini anxiety attacks I feel swelling in my chest anytime I think of the impending date…

When I turn thirty…

I will no longer be able to say that I’m in my mid- twenties… okay, more like late twenties but it makes me feel good to fudge a bit…

I will no longer be considered “the youngest” teacher in my school…Newer, fresher, younger teachers have taken over the role that I once coveted proudly for several years…

I will no longer be able to blame my lack of common sense as a youthful discretion because, hey, when you’re still in your twenties you’re not really a grown up just yet. I’m pretty sure brains don’t stop developing until around the age of twenty-six- ya know, your late twenties…

Sigh.

When I enter my thirties…

I hope it means that I will still get carded… just enough to still make feel young and that I look young…

I hope it means a family of my own… my own children to spoil and love on as much as I do my nieces now…

I hope it means a house that I have purchased as a result of teaching full time, teaching summer school, and working a part time job…

I hope it means adventures and travel…exploring places in the world that I have yet to wonder through.

I hope it means that someone still asks me what college I’m attending when I mention that I am on spring break (this happened to me last night and boy oh boy did it make my week…nope, more like my month! This individual would not believe that I was almost thirty and man, I sure did love him for that!)…

I hope turning thirty means that I never truly lose my kid self, because she’s pretty fun and my students seem to like her a whole lot…

But mostly, I hope turning thirty really just means turning twenty-nine for a second, or third or fourth, time…

 

 

 

2 responses »

  1. The 30’s are great! I can say that confidently since I am in my early (well, maybe mid) thirties myself. Great format for this topic, starting with what you will lose and then shifting to what you hope to gain. Happy early birthday!

Leave a Reply

