What The Fork?!

Standard

I love to drive…I love the feel of the rich leather steering wheel underneath my grasping hands…

The quiet thumping of the tires hitting the gravel…

The music blaring through my speakers, thump- thumping my way down the highway…

My foot on the gas pedal… heavily pressing down…

My car racing forwarding, zooming along the wide open spaces…

The speed gauge climbing up, up (I swear I was a race car driver in a former life)…

When…

The swirl of red and blue flashing lights quickly brought me back to reality as I glanced in my rear view mirror to see that ever dreaded police car…pulling me over….

Quickly moving to the shoulder of the road, I pulled out my license and insurance card, rolled my window down, and hung head my head in shame to greet the police man…

Who wasted no time in issuing me a ticket with a mandatory desk appearance to court. Sigh…

A few weeks later, I made my way to appear for my ticket- dressed to the nines… Dress clothes, heels, and my teacher bag that contained basically my life ( ya know…everything and anything a teacher could need in the world)… Placed my bag on the conveyor belt to be shuffled through the x-ray machine, to be examined on it’s own as I stepped through the security gates.

“Ma’am,” I remember hearing, “What is this in your bag?” “Ummm…” I really had to think- there were really so many possibilities to that question. Upon closer inspection, my mom and I broke up laughing…” Is that a fork in your bag?”

Needless to say, that fork did not make it into the courthouse… But I did get out of my ticket (with a little supervision though of course)…

Write. Share. Give.

3 responses »

  1. What a fun little slice that teaches me something about who you are: enjoy driving fast, have a great sense of humor, you’re a teacher, and, I think, you have a supportive mom. It was engaging and enjoyable. Thanks for this slice!

  2. That is so funny! I am awfully sorry about the ticket, but the fork?!?! I am still laughing about that…I love your use of humor to help with something that could have been a more sobering moment…maybe the fork helped you out of the fine?!?!?!😉

Leave a Reply

