Spring Break Dreams…

Standard

In a perfect world, my spring break might consist of a bright, sunny sky hanging high in a clear sky as blue as the ocean…

Lounging in a beach chair facing the ocean, listening to the gentle waves lapping on the shore, an ice cold strawberry margarita in hand…

A book open on my lap, my always too pale skin tanning perfectly (haha, fat chance…I usually go from translucent to a ripe cherry tomato- no in between)…

The gentle ocean breeze cooling the hot, beating sun while carrying the ripe scents of blooming flowers cascading through the air…

OR…

My spring break might consist of exploring new places… visiting friends who have moved around the country, like to New York. Exploring Central Park, visiting Times Square with every other tourist in the world…

Getting all dolled up to dine at the nicest restaurants in Manhattan, wine tasting on hotel rooftops, meeting new friends…

Exploring Ellis Island- visiting the hub of immigration in the 1800’s, climbing the stairs of The Statue of Liberty, or paying somber tribute at the 9/11 Memorial…

BUT…

My spring break reality is cleaning my house… Going through each and every closet, shifting through belongings, out with the old so there is room for the new…

Scrubbing the floors and moving furniture to deep clean, essential oils diffusing in the background to purify the ear, my patio doors opened slightly to allow the chilly, slightly spring weather to flow into the room…

Running errands, meeting friends for breakfast and early movie showings, forcing myself to kickboxing class and out to run as I restart my Couch to 5k app…

My spring break is catching up on life…spending time with my nieces, shopping for spring clothes, reading from my ever growing pile of books I need  to read while sipping wine, lounging on my couch, no early bedtime needed for a week, alarm clock free wake-ups (so, so sweet)…

While a spring break spent laying on a beach or touring New York might be nice, catching up on everyday life isn’t quite so bad… and I’ll have a nice clean house to relax in as a result.

Write. Share. Give.

 

4 responses »

  1. You had wonderful descriptions for the Spring Breaks you wish you were having. I felt like I was laying next to you on that beach. I’m proud of you for being so productive this break. Don’t worry, there is always next year.

Leave a Reply

