Upstairs Neighbors…

Standard

I live in a downstairs condo… which I really love.

Being on the first floor allows me easy access in and out… I am able to lug in an entire load of groceries in just one go, because seriously, who has time to make two trips? Being on the first floor allows me to do this…

I can sneak in and out through my patio doors- taking out the trash, running to my car in my pajamas trying to avoid being seen by neighbors, sitting on my patio sipping wine hidden behind lush, green bushes- blocking me from view (when the warm weather decides to grace us with her presence, of course)…

I really love living on the first floor…

Except…

My upstairs neighbors.

Sigh.

I am on my second round of neighbors since moving in and they have been less than desirable. Today, as I write this, I am currently listening to my upstairs neighbors slamming what I assume to be a heavy weighted ball against the floor (ya know…my ceiling). Over. And over. And over again. This has been going on for a good 45 minutes. My patience…its waning and is becoming very, very thin…

All I wanted to do tonight was unwind…grade a few papers, enjoy a glass of wine, and watch Once Upon a Time… revel in the peace and quiet of my home…relax and prepare for the final two days of the week.

But all I can hear is thud, thud, thud…. Which is a nice change of pace from the usual bass vibrating through my ceiling, shaking my light fixtures, causing my electricity to flicker on and off, on and off…

But tonight…thud, thud, thud…

My neighbor is lucky I’m already in my pajamas… that this glass of wine is much too delicious to leave unfinished… and my legs too sore from kickboxing to make that long trek upstairs…

Write. Share. Give.

 

5 responses »

  1. So as much as this Slice made me feel bad for your situation, it also made me laugh out loud! You used such wonderful sensory words, that I feel like I am sitting next to you, and listening to the ‘thud, thud, thud.’ Maybe you should knock on their door and ask about their new exercise routine? Enjoy that glass of wine…

  2. I can remember one neighbor in particular when I lived one particular apartment building. They lived next door and there bedroom wall abutted mine. Need I say more? Not the music to which I chose to fall asleep! And as much as I wanted to go down the hall and ask them to quiet down, it seemed too awkward! Imagine!

  3. Never had neighbors like those, but in college, we had neighbors who would hit the bong, a lot! Our hallway had a bit of a haze to it, and when we’d stop to say hi, I swear we’d get a buzz from the secondary smoke! I hope your situation improves. Perhaps you could aim your speakers up? Play tennis off the ceiling? 🙂

    Thanks for the sensory-filled slice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

