Where I’m From…

Standard

I am from books,
from Harry Potter and Little Women
I am from the smells of Sunday brunch
pervading the house each Sunday morning.
I am from the pear tree and towering evergreens in the backyard
(sweet scents of decaying fruit and sap covered pine cones littering the ground).

I’m from Christmas cookies and braces,
From Wanda and Scott.
I’m from the knowledge seekers and chatty Cathys,
the clean your room and I love you’s.
I’m from Saturday CCD and church mass on the holidays.

I’m from Janet and Walter’s branch,
kielbasa and pierogis.
From the decision my grandparents made to leave Poland for America,
The dedication and hard work of my mother to provide.
In the basement was my grandpa’s chest of drawers,
old pictures, treasures, memories to revisit when hearts healed,
and moments begin to fade away.

I am from these moments-
rich in love and hope,
family and friends,
snippets of the beginning of my family tree.

Don’t Cry Over Lost Glasses

11 responses »

  1. This was so beautiful and a pleasure to read! I love that your first line marks you as a literate person- from books. I wrote a Where I’m From poem last year as my very first Slice. Yours is a winner!

  2. I love this poem, Samantha! My favorites are your ending and this line: sweet scents of decaying fruit and sap covered pine cones littering the ground. Such rich imagery!

  3. Thanks for reminding me of this great poem. I might just try my hand at my own for one of my slices. Half of my family tree is from Poland, so I can relate to the kielbasa and pierogis…yum! I love that you use “chest of drawers” because I feel like that is a term not used much today, it brought back a warm feeling for me.

  4. Great poem about family. I am working on my Family tree. I hope to put it into a written format too to share with family. Thanks for the great idea of writing a poem.

  5. “I’m from Janet and Walter’s branch”… You just made me smile with those simple words as I think not only about the “branch” that make me who I am, but the branch that I am for my children. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

