13.1

Standard

Last year, I had set a goal for myself. A monumental task that I wanted to achieve. A stepping stone on the way to a greater, grander goal I had for myself even further down the line.

To run a half marathon. 13.1 miles. As a number, 13.1 isn’t the least bit intimidating…Maybe a little superstitious, but a number that is relatively small- easy to count out, just one more than a dozen. But when you add in miles after it, suddenly the number seems daunting…unachievable. 13.1 miles laughed in my face last year. It taunted me as I struggled to build up my millage on the treadmill (NOT the best way to train for any type of a race). It laughed in my face as I came up with excuse after excuse as to why I could never seem to get my butt, or legs for that matter, in gear.

I blamed my shoes…the treadmill…my busy schedule…the cold…the heat…the list of excuses went on and on. And finally I blamed myself. My lack of confidence. Not believing in myself. Giving up before even trying…the REAL reasons as to why this hefty goal had not been met.

So this year, I’m going to try again. I am going be confident. I am going to believe in myself. I am not going to give up. This year I will tackle my first half marathon. I will be successful, even if I have to crawl across the finish line. I will run 13.1 miles.

17 responses »

  1. Yes!!! I love the confidence you exude! It’s amazing that simply believing in ourselves is all it takes. We believe it – we can do it. That’s that. Good luck!

  2. I loved your final paragraphs. The so appropriately capture what it takes to reach a goal – hitting roadblocks, making excuses, and finally settling on making it work. Best of luck to you. You can do it…13.1 miles will feel amazing.

  3. I am signed up for a half marathon this year too! It is quite daunting but at the end of day 13.1 is just a number (though it is a big one). And remembering that all that matters is crossing the finish-line, doesn’t matter if it is dead last or first. Good luck!

  4. You can definitely do this Samantha, but you DO have to train. You got this! I like the reflection here. You have forced yourself to realize that YOU must make this happen and everything else is just an excuse. You will be so proud of yourself when you have accomplished your goal!

  5. I am proud of you for taking on this daunting task. As you know I toss and turn with the idea of running anything higher than a 5K. I know you can do this. You are my inspiration to try a 13.1 miler one day.

  6. Your description caught my eye, and I knew I had to read this! I, like you and some of your responders, am also training for a 1/2 marathon. I’m training with a friend and , unfortunately, she pushed the date back so we are not running in the original one I had planned for. But, our new plan is to find a different race soon and to go ahead an pay for it so we have monetary reasons to stick with it. I have gone over a week without running now because of winter weather. I refuse to pay a gym to run, so I am hoping spring comes soon! Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

