The Best Man in the World

Standard

My grandfather is the best man in the world…hands down…no comparison even come close. He was just the best. I can’t remember a single childhood memory, or a memory from my teenage years, that did not include him. He was always there and I loved every single minute of it. I loved his wild stories from his days in the army during World War Two, his stories of growing up in Poland, and the crazy things my mom did as a teenager. He was my protector when I got in trouble, my wisdom when I needed advice, and when my dad walked out on our family, he filled that void in my life. I couldn’t imagine my life without him in it.

And then, many years later, the day came for me to say goodbye. I remember it so clearly. Sitting beside my grandpa’s hospital bed, his hand in mine. This big, strong man who protected me from so much, seemed so small, so weak. Even as he was lying there, fighting to hang on, his goal was still the same- to protect me and reassure me that everything was going to be okay. I remember the brave, weak smile he gave me as he told me how proud he was of the person I was becoming and how much he loved me. I will always remember the overwhelming sense of love in that final hug as we said goodbye.

Losing my grandfather was one of the most difficult events of my life. But I’m comforted by the amazing memories we shared together and still feel his love with me everyday.

My grandfather will always be the best man in the world. Hands down. No comparison comes close.

7 responses »

  1. As I read this, I think about my Papa, who was one of the best men in my life. He taught me so many things and saved me on many occasions. When he passed away, I was so heart broken but cherish the great memories whenever I think about him. Those are memories that keep him present in your life.

  2. I love the repeated line, No comparison comes close. It is such a special bond, grandparents and grandkids. I just loved this. It reminded me of the memories I have of my grandparents. Memories I will treasure for the rest of my life!

    • You’re so right Janel- our grandpas rock our little girl, big girl, young girl, and old girl selves. Samantha this is a stellar slice. Your grandpa sounds amazing.

Leave a Reply

