A New Journey

Standard
Today I am embarking on a new journey. Not just a journey to challenge myself and blog once a day, but a personal challenge that I have always felt compelled to complete…training for a marathon. Ten years ago, I found myself volunteering at the finish line of the Chicago Marathon with my high school cross country team. I was so inspired by the many amazing runners who crossed that finish line. Many were running for a cause- to raise money and spark awareness. For others, their goal was simple…to prove to themselves that they could do it. That they could complete such an amazing feat. I knew that I wanted to be one of these people, to say that I accomplished something so big. But as the years went by, and the days got busier, it was easier to find excuses to not achieve this goal I had made for myself so long ago- too tired, too stressed, too busy…the list went on and on and on. But I’ve decided that this is the year…the year that I begin to work towards goals that I had set for myself so long ago. So, on September 7, 2014 I will take my first steps towards running in a full marathon one day…by conquering my first half marathon. While this will be a tough journey for me, I am looking forward to it. To learning more about myself and changing into the person I want to be.
16 responses »

  1. Samantha, Man can I relate to the idea that life gets in the way of doing things we want to do for ourselves! Yes Ma’am! Congrats to you for setting the goal and gettin’ it done! And, writing along the way….BONUS! Welcome to SOL!!

  2. I think we might be twins – I’m doing my first Slice of Life CHallenge, and training for a half marathon (my first) in June! ANd there’s little nagging thought that I might go on from there… Good luck to you on both fronts – I’m using my training time right now to mentally rehearse my writing – multitasking!

  3. Wow, Sam – That’s an amazing goal! You will do it Your determination seeps through your words. Good for you, I am always in awe of people who run marathons.
    Welcome, too, to the Slicing community. I am SO glad you decided to do this!!

  4. Good for you, Sam! Taking on two challenges is no small thing – and I look forward to reading about your preparations. I am such an admirer of people who run marathons – dedication and stick-with-itness personified.

  5. I am so excited that you are going to be training for a Half! It is a Bucket List kind of goal and I know that you will do it! I think it will be such a great month for all of us to share our Slices and as soon as the weather gets better, I will be excited to train with you too (No Marathon for me, but I will at least try to run!!!)

  6. Wow! You have set two terrific goals for yourself! Every May I watch the Colfax Marathon and Half Marathon in Denver and think that I would like to train some year. Congratulations on taking on this huge challenge! And welcome to the Slice of Life community!

Leave a Reply

